Skip to Content


Reciprocal Jurisdictions

Alabama considers the following as reciprocal jurisdictions for the purpose of bar admission:

Alaska Massachusetts Oregon
Colorado Michigan Pennsylvania
Connecticut Minnesota Tennessee
District of Columbia Mississippi Texas
Georgia Missouri Utah
Illinois Nebraska Virginia
Indiana New Hampshire Washington
Kansas New Mexico Wisconsin
Kentucky Ohio Wyoming
Maine Oklahoma

If an applicant seeking admission without examination is admitted to practice law in a state not listed above, the applicant must submit a complete Certificate of Jurisdictional Reciprocity with his or her application.

Attorneys licensed in Alabama who wish to seek admission without examination in another jurisdiction should contact that jurisdiction for admission and eligibility requirements.